Addicted to the steel;Meet Kenyan Bodybuilder and USN kenya athlete ”The Irion Shaffi”

shafi-4
Jeep: What are your real names?

Shaffi: My real names are Gabriel Mukundi.


Jeep: Most people might be wondering,Why the name Irion Shaffi?

Shaffi: Iron; because of the love I have for the metals, and Shaffi; was my name when I was a Muslim and I’ve retained it coz of it’s popularity. But my mum converted to Christian when we were children and so we followed suit me and my little  brother.

Jeep: How do you balance your; family,work and fitness
time?

Shaffi: My work is fitness itself, and so it works mutually with my family.


Jeep: How long have you been in this sport?

Shaffi: I’ve loved sports from a tender age, from being a boxer to rugby and Kabaddi, but bodybuilding… I started last year  (May 2015) in preparation for my debut in Mr /Mrs Nairobi.

shafi-1

Jeep: What approached you to fitness?

Shaffi: Hahaha being raised in the ghetto, to survive you must be strong and I found it as a healthy way of staying out of trouble.


Jeep: what attracted you to the bodybuilding part?

Shaffi: As I’ve been growing in fitness, I’ve noticed that I’m genetically wired for muscles and since I decided to trust my instincts, I’ve never looked back with regrets.

Jeep: How was the reaction of your family and
friends when you said,”I am becoming a bodybuilder”?

Shaffi: They’ve been very supportive from day one. I remember I went for Mr Nairobi with all my family including my mum and brother  (they were very thrilled coz they had not been to one before ) and and lots of friends.


Jeep: What categories have you competed in and how did
you place?

Shaffi: -Mr Nairobi  (heavyweight ) 5th position.
-Modern fitness (light heavy ) 5th position.
-Mr. Kakamega (light heavy ) 4thposition.

-Mr. Kenya 2017 (light heavy)

 

shafi-5


Jeep: how many days a week, how many
sessions a day and hours do you train?

Shaffi: 5 days a week, 2-3hrs per day.

Jeep: Which is your most starbon muscle and which one is your strong
hold?

Shaffi: I’m lucky to have a balanced physique, I only struggled with the baby-fat that covered my midsection…


Jeep: free weights or machines which is the best?

Shaffi: I love free weights, but also can’t overlook the modern form of machines that can work a muscle better than free weights…


Jeep: Isolated muscle workout or Compound muscle
workout which do you prefer for bringing out the
aesthetics?

Shafii: I do both in one session,it works for me.

shafi-6


Jeep: As they say,muscle are made in the gym
and grow in the Kitchen, what’s your diet like?

Shaffi: I eat 3 meals of solid food and 3 meals of supplements. Total 6 meals a day. Not forgetting my BCAA intra workout 😉


Jeep: When do you have your cheatmeals?

Shaffi: I cheat only when I’m bulking early during my off season. Once a week  (Sundays)

Jeep: Whats favourite supplements?

Shaffi: USN supplements all day…

shafi-7


Jeep: Who is Your favourite current Mr. Olimpya
competitor,?

Shaffi: I don’t like to look at it that way… everyone that ever steps on Olympia stage inspires me.

Jeep:Well everyone always have their Fair share of
criticism from people, have you had yours?

Shaffi: Mmmm..  I don’t recall any serious one… coz personally I love to inspire people and majority love me back for that.  how was it? N/A

shafi-3

Jeep: What music highps! you in the gym?

Shaffi: Roots or hip-hop.

Jeep: MMMMMM….Roots Reggae thats my guy…

Shaffi: ahahaha.

Jeep:Whats your craziest funns experience?

Shaffi: hahaha….. it was in Mr/Mrs kakamega during my free pose moment and my music had some problems before it could play. So as I was standing there waiting, a fun shouted “endelea bila wimbo”in total luhya ascent, and I replied “imba niendelee.. “and the crowd busted in laughter.

shafi-9

Jeep: What advice can you give to young
athletes trying to get into fitness?


Shaffi: ” It’s gonna take time to reach your goal and it’s gonna hurt!   but the key is patience, stay away from steroids and supplement wisely. Just keep working and success will come… ”

 

One thought on “Addicted to the steel;Meet Kenyan Bodybuilder and USN kenya athlete ”The Irion Shaffi”

Leave a Reply

